On Friday, November 13th, I attended the ceramics symposium at the Kansas City Art Institute. While the lecture given was extremely boring, there were some very interesting ideas that were brought up, ideas that I had never linked to ceramics before. The main idea that struck me was the idea of hygiene being associated with ceramics. When I thought about it I realized that it was as ceramics are still used to this day for pottery and practical utensils, even toilets are still made of ceramic. It is cheap, easy to form, and durable. The main example that struck me was the funnels made for women so that they could stand up while using the restroom.

Ceramics have always interested me. I took it at my community college and absolutely loved it. While I have never considered majoring in it I’d like to think that I am fairly decent with the processes involved. I would very much like to be able to use the ceramics department for making certain things, and hopefully continue practicing the craft as a hobby, but not necessarily as a way to make a living. Even so I don’t think I’d be opposed to the idea of creating ceramic works.